About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



The 2013 CollegeInsider.com VIP Party was held Rooftop 866 and Briza, an Atlanta hotspot. It was one of the premier events in Atlanta, site of the 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX  -- Hawaii's Eran Ganot is the recipient of the 2016 Joe B. Hall, which is presented annually to the top first-year coach in division I.
Ganot led Hawaii to an historic season, winning both the Big West regular season and tournament titles and recording the most wins in school history (28). 

Ganot led the Rainbow Warriors to their fist NCAA appearance since 2002 and their first-round win over California was the program to its' first-ever NCAA Tournament victory.

The award is named in the honor of Joe B. Hall who was given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp. In his first season at the University of Kentucky, Hall finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals.
From 1972 to 1985 Hall would win two-thirds of his games (297-100), receive four SEC Coach of the Year honors and win a National Championship (1978). Along with the 1978 title, Hall also guided Kentucky to a runner-up finish to UCLA in the 1975 NCAA tournament, a Final Four appearance in the 1984 NCAA Tournament and an NIT championship in 1976. He won 8 Southeastern Conference regular season championships and one Southeastern Conference tournament championship (1984).
Hall is one of only three men to win an NCAA championship as a player (1949- Kentucky) and coach (1978- Kentucky). The only others to achieve this feat are Bob Knight and Dean Smith.


Chris Beard, Little Rock
Linc Darner, Green Bay
Nathan Davis, Bucknell
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Eran Ganot, Hawaii
Eric Konkol, Louisiana Tech
Matt McCall, Chattanooga
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Montez Robinson, Alcorn State

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.